College Entrepreneur Jane Fensterstock, Urban Fashionista and Designer, Takes on Powerful Niche Market With 2CommaKid

November 12, 2010 at 6:30 pm Leave a comment

Is college entrepreneur Jane Fensterstock the next Kimora Lee Simmons? At age 19 she’s already a designer, targeting a powerful niche with hip designs. To learn more about tricks of the trade from this young entrepreneur, read the below Q & A.

Name

Jane Fensterstock

Status

Full time George Washington University student majoring in Business Administration

Tell us about yourself.

I was born in New York City and I am 19 years old. I attended Convent of the Sacred Heart on the Upper East Side of Manhattan, but for the past 4 years have lived on the Lower East Side. I am a huge fan of film and love hip hop music and dance as well as modern, contemporary and urban art. I am also an avid sneaker collector.

Tell us about your business.

I own an urban clothing company called Two Comma Kid, a hybrid brand that combines preppy color ways with urban imagery. I design all of the clothes which are then hand printed and all of which are sold in men’s AND women’s sizes.

The “preppy rogue” / “polished urban” style is a rapidly emerging one. Young people from affluent families look for street credibility while urban youth use fashion as a form of mockery, depicting a satirical view of the young and wealthy.

Two Comma Kid was incorporated in July of 2009.

What were the early signs that you were a future entrepreneur?

I was a competitive child, and honestly a stubborn kid too. I was a force to be reckoned with and still can be (which can be verified by both of my parents…)  I never liked being told I couldn’t do something and I wasn’t content with losing.

I was energetic, and inquisitive; always doing 100 different things at once. I always had a fascination about how things worked; car engines, motorcycles, anything mechanical.

For a time sports and other regular childhood and adolescent activities occupied my time but about sophomore year of high school I wanted something different, something unique, something that would make me stand out.

I have many passions that span over all different genres and industries. When I realized that I didn’t have to choose one passion or one dream and discovered that being an entrepreneur would allow me the opportunity to pursue all of them, I can say without a doubt I found my calling.

What is the most exciting/ rewarding part of your business?

Creation. Watching something you have created grow and develop. The most rewarding moments come in all forms; a new line of samples come in that look awesome, somebody likes a design or someone approaches me who is interested in my company.

I repeatedly tell people that it is those moments that I remember exactly why I do what I do. The rush. It is the rush and the highs of this profession that drive me through the disappointments and mistakes. It is a sensational feeling that is hard to beat.

What is the most challenging part of your business?

The most challenging aspect of handling business at this age is accepting that I am still learning. My business is as much of a work in progress as I am an entrepreneur. I find that learning through doing is the only way skills can be learned, yet it is important to remember that we must learn to crawl and fall few times before we learn to run.

What advice would you give to young entrepreneurs?

I have been fortunate enough over the past few years to be surrounded by people who not only were willing to advise and mentor my venture, but truly believed in what I wished to accomplish. Never forget those people and do them justice by giving advice when it is your turn to give it.

The advice that I would have to give those starting out would be the following.

*  Three abstract things create a concrete business: An idea, a market, and passion

*   Utilize all resources, (especially the internet :)

This generation has infinite amounts of information and forms of connection at its finger tips.

I can credit a large part of the development of my business to hours and hours of browsing Google and other sites.

Never dismiss a contact:

Regardless of whether or not you think a person or business will be what you are looking for always take the meeting or write the email. They maybe what you are looking for in 6 months.

* Find companies that are in your potential market or are similar to what you want to do:

You will be surprised to see how many companies love to give advice, especially to those who are fans or customers of their own.

** Passion is infinitely more valuable than sheer ability**

If you are not completely invested in the idea or venture it will not fly. It is not to say there won’t be times of doubt or second guessing, but it is your passion that over comes that doubt.

In the beginning, you must be your own #1 fan, nothing less than 110%. In the future, you can pass that off to someone else…

More on Jane, and 2CommaKid

Website: 2CommaKid.com

Twitter: TwoCommaKidLLC

Facebook: Two Comma Kid Group!

Discussion Questions

1.What early signs do you exhibit that might lead you to entrepreneurship as happened with Jane?

2. 2CommalKid targets a specific market, with specific fashions. Is there a market in which you’re interested. Complete the “market research” section of the Entrepreneur in the Classroom free curriculum in Module 3 (Chose two points on slide 15) . Lead a discussion on your favorite resources found to research your market.

3. Advanced: Complete the “Market Landscape” section of Exercise 3-3, or Exercise 3-4 in the Entrepreneur in the Classroom free curriculum

More information

Know a Young Entrepreneur? Nominate them here.

The NFIB Young Entrepreneur Foundation is a 501(c)(3) organization promoting the importance of small business and free enterprise to the nation’s youth. More information is available at www.NFIB.com/YEF.  The Foundation is associated with the National Federation of Independent Business; NFIB is the nation’s leading small business association, with offices in Washington, D.C. and all 50 state capitals.

Entrepreneur In The Classroom. The NFIB Young Entrepreneur Foundation Entrepreneur-in-the-Classroom (EITC) supplemental curriculum exposes students to entrepreneurship and the necessary steps to take an idea and turn it into a business. The free curriculum can be integrated into classes teaching a variety of subjects including music, art, fashion, business and many more. You must be registered to view the full Entrepreneur-in-the-Classroom curriculum.

Related links:

Follow NFIB Young Entrepreneur Foundation on Twitter

Follow NFIB on Twitter

Follow blog author Kathy Korman Frey on Twitter

Entry filed under: Business exercises, Educators, Young Entrepreneur, Young Entrepreneur Foundation. Tags: , , , , .

Scary Halloween Business Stories: Surviving Business Challenges in Manufacturing The Nation’s Top Young Entrepreneurs

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address

Join 22,175 other followers

www.Twitter.com/NFIBYEF

www.twitter.com/nfib

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 92,862 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 22,175 other followers

